Awards Program

The Surface Navy Association maintains a dynamic awards program for our Sailors, Cuttermen, Dependents, future Sailors and Civilian military supporters. We offer a wide spectrum of opportunities including recognition & monetary awards. Our major award winners are recognized at The Annual National Symposium held in Washington DC.

Our awards program singles out members of our community whose achievements have warranted individual recognition for their contribution to the legacy of Surface Warriors. This group represents all our heroes, past & present, who have served their nation in the surface ships of the Fleet.

2017 Awardees

Arleigh Burke Operational Excellence

  • LCDR James Barber, USN
    USS Shiloh (CG 67)
  • LT Kainoa Cumpston, USN
    USS Sirocco (PC 6)
  • LTJG Marina Nanartowich, USN
    USS Carney (DDG 64)
  • QM1(SW/AW) Jerry Gore II, USN
    USS New Orleans (LPD 18)
  • FCC(SW) Robert Houck, USN
    USS Nitze (DDG 94)

Naval Surface Forces Shiphandler of the Year Award

  • LT Austin Clouse, USN
    USS Gunston Hall (LSD 44)

Special Recognition Awards

  • VADM Doug Katz, USN (Ret)
  • FORCM(SW/AW) Karen O'Connor, USN (Ret)
  • RADM John Tozzi, USCG (Ret)

Old Salt

  • VADM Kurt W. Kidd, USN

Admiral Zumwalt Award for Visionary Leadership

  • BM2(SW/AW) Raymond Newton, USN
    USS Spruance (DDG 111)
  • CMDCM(SW/AW) Thadeous Wright, USN
    USS Shiloh (CG 67)

Captain Raymond Komorowski Photography Award

Surface Force Independent Duty Corpsman of the Year Award

  • HM1(SW) Carrie Conn, USN
    USS Gonzalez (DDG 66)
  • HM1(SW/FMF/AW) Billy Fuson Jr., USN
    USS Barry (DDG 52)

Surface Navy Literary Award

  • CAPT George Galdorisi, USN (Ret)
    "A Potent One-Two Punch"
    Proceedings, March 2016

Expert Shiphandler Award

  • LT Austin Clouse, USN
  • LT Sean Buggy, USN
    Runner Up

Old Tar

  • GMCS(SW/EXW) Robert Hyatt, USN

Additional Awards

  • Master Gunner George Sirian Meritorious Service Award
  • Naval War College Surface Navy Association Award
  • RADM Herbert E. Schonland Award for Excellence in Damage Control
  • Recruit Division Commander of the Year Award
  • Recruiter of the Year Grant
  • Sailors of the Year
  • Senior Enlisted Academy of Naval Heritage Award
  • Surface Warfare Hall of Fame
  • Surface Warfare Historical Remembrance
  • United States Naval Academy YP Squadron Commodore Award