Board of Directors & Officers

Surface Navy Association (SNA) was incorporated in 1985 to promote greater coordination and communication among those in the military, business, and academic communities who share a common interest in Surface Warfare while supporting the activities of Surface Naval Forces.

ADM Arleigh Burke, USN (Ret) Honorary Chairman 1987-1996

ADM J.R. Hogg, USN (Ret) Chairman of the Board

VADM Richard Hunt, USN (Ret) President

Vice Admiral Hunt graduated from the University of Wisconsin-Madison in 1975 with a Bachelor of Science in Bacteriology.  He was commissioned in February 1976 through the Officer Candidate School program in Newport, R.I.  He attended Naval Post Graduate School, receiving a Master of Science in Telecommunications Systems Management in March 1988.


Hunt served in USS Sampson (DDG 10), USS Underwood (FFG 36) and USS Roark (FF 1053).  As Commanding Officer of USS Crommelin (FFG 37) from August 1993 to May 1995, he deployed as part of the Kitty Hawk Battle Group in support of Korean Contingency Operations.  Following his command tour, he served as assistant chief of staff of Operations and Plans for Commander, Cruiser Destroyer Group 2, deploying twice as part of the George Washington Battle Group.  He served as Commanding Officer, USS Philippine Sea (CG 58) and air warfare commander for the Enterprise Battle Group from December 1999 to July 2001.  In July 2005, he assumed command of Carrier Strike Group Six/John F Kennedy Strike Group.  Additionally, he served as Commander, Combined Joint Task Force-Horn of Africa, United States Central Command from April 2006 to February 2007; Commander, U.S. THIRD Fleet from June 2009 to April 2011; and Commander, Naval Surface Forces/Naval Surface Force, U.S. Pacific Fleet from June 2011 to July 2012.  He became Director, Navy Staff in August 2012 and retired from the Navy in November 2013.

Shore assignments include: assistant professor Naval/Reserve Officers Training Corps Unit, The Ohio State University; communications systems officer for Command, Control, Communications, and Computer Systems Directorate (J6), Joint Staff; executive assistant to Director, Surface Warfare (N86); executive assistant to Deputy Chief of Staff of Naval Operations for Resources, Requirements, and Assessments (N8), and Executive Assistant Chairman, Joint Chiefs of Staff.  He additionally served as Deputy Director, Strategy & Policy (J5), Joint Staff and Director, Programming Division (N80), Navy Staff.


Personal decorations include the Navy Distinguished Service Medal, Defense Superior Service Medal, Legion of Merit, Defense Meritorious Service Medal, Meritorious Service Medal, Navy and Marine Corps Commendation Medal, Joint Service Achievement Medal, Navy and Marine Corps Achievement Medal, and various service and unit awards.


Hunt joined Raytheon Company in the position of Vice President, Business Development, Navy/Marine Corps Programs in January 2014 and assumed the role of Vice President for U.S. Business Development in June 2015.  He transitioned to Chief Strategy Officer at Fincantieri Marinette Marine in April 2018.

VADM Timothy LaFleur, USN (Ret) Vice President (West Coast)
Vice Admiral LaFleur has been with Booz Allen Hamilton since 2005. Vice Admiral LaFleur spent almost 35 years in the U.S. Navy, retiring as a Vice Admiral in March 2005. During his time in the U.S. Navy he served as the community leader for the Surface Navy for nearly 4 years. While ensuring the current readiness of the Surface Navy, he was also charting its future course through transformational efforts aimed at enhancing the ability of the force to fight and win. He also served concurrently as the Pacific Fleet Surface Force Type Commander. In that capacity, he provided properly manned, trained, equipped, and combat-ready warships and special combat support forces to operational commanders throughout the Pacific, Indian Ocean, and Arabian Gulf areas of operation. Vice Admiral LaFleur received his Bachelor of Science degree from the U.S. Naval Academy in 1970 and his M.S. in Financial Management from the Naval Postgraduate School in 1981.

VADM Hank Giffin, USN (Ret) Vice President (East Coast)

CAPT Jim Tackett, USN (Ret) Treasurer
Captain Tackett received his Bachelor of Science degree from the University of South Carolina and was commissioned via the University’s ROTC program in 1971. His initial tour of duty was onboard USS GALLUP (PG-85) followed by tours in STERRETT, WADDELL, DESRON –15, DEYO and as Commanding Officer of USS FAHRION. He received his Masters Degree in Finance from the Naval Post Graduate School in 1981.

Captain Tackett has twice served on the OPNAV Staff, first within the Surface Warfare Office for Plans and Budget and following his command at sea tour, as Director of Ship Self Defense. He has served in 2 significant shore assignments in NAVSEA, first as the Deputy Program Manager for Cooperative Engagement (CEC) followed by assignment as Program Management for the NATO SeaSparrow Program.

Since retirement in 1999, Captain Tackett has been a senior manager for BAE Systems serving on the staff of the Italian Ministry of Defense in Rome, Italy and currently as Director of Technical Operations for the Surface Warfare Directorate.

Captain Tackett resides in Rockville, Md and is a lifetime member of SNA.

CAPT David Lee, USN (Ret) Secretary

Board of Directors

BOD terms end at the SNA National Symposium on the year listed
VADM Barry McCullough, USN (Ret) - Immediate Past President
January 2020 Mr. Christopher Bova
CMDCM David Carter, USN
RADM Sinclair Harris, USN (Ret)
LCDR Monica Iannacone, USNR
CDR Riley Murdock, USN
MKC Heath Reid, USCG
LCDR Douglas Robb, USN
RDML Cynthia Thebaud, USN (Ret)
LT Arthur Zepf, USN
January 2021 QMCS Donald Alvarado, USN
CAPT Christopher Barnes, USN
LT Rebecca Conti-Vock, USN
LCDR Nicholas Hoffmann, USN
CAPT Jon Kaufmann, USN (Ret)
CDR Peter Niles, USCG
RADM James Shannon, USN (Ret)
OS1 James Thornton, USN
January 2022 CDR Emily Bassett, USN
GSCS(SW/AW) John Bradshaw, USN
LCDR Jason Garfield, USN
RADM Brad Hicks, USN (Ret)
BM3 Harriett Martin, USN
LCDR Justin Nadolny, USCG
CAPT Michael Salvato, USN (Ret)
CAPT Glen Sears, USN (Ret)