List of Awards



Admiral Zumwalt Award for Visionary Leadership

Arleigh Burke Operational Excellence

CAPT Raymond A. Komorowski Photography Award

Surface Warfare Hall of Fame
SNA Literary Award

Expert Shiphandler Award

Master Gunner George Sirian Meritorious Service Award

Naval War College Surface Navy Association Award
Old Salt
Old Tar
RADM Herbert E. Schonland Award for Excellence in Damage Control
Recruit Division Commander of the Year Award
Recruiter of the Year Grant
Sailors of the Year
Senior Enlisted Academy Naval Heritage Award
Special Recognition
Stephen Decatur, Jr.
Support of Chapter Awards Program
Surface Force Independent Duty Corpsman of the Year Award
Surface Navy Literary Award
Surface Warfare Historical Remembrance
United States Naval Academy YP Squadron Commodore Award
Chapter Membership Excellence Award
CMC/Senior Chief Recognition Award

The Surface Navy Association maintains a dynamic awards program to award our Sailors, Cuttermen, Dependents, future Sailors and Civilian military supporters through a wide spectrum of opportunities to include recognition and monetary awards.  Recognition takes place annually with major awards presented at the Annual Symposium held in Alexandria, VA.  These awards recognize some members of our community whose achievements, in a variety of pursuits, have warranted individual recognition for their contribution to the legacy of Surface Warriors. These individuals are not the complete list of those worthy of such recognition. They, in a sense, are representative of all of our heroes, past and present, who have served their Navy and their nation in the surface ships of the Fleet. These awardees have, however, distinguished themselves as being exceptionally worthy representatives of that larger list, and exemplify the qualities that have marked the Surface Warrior over our history.

View 2017 SNA VADM Robert L. Walters Scholarship Winners here.


2017 SNA National Symposium Awardees

Admiral Arleigh Burke Surface Warfare Excellence Award
 LCDR James Barber, USN
USS Shiloh (CG 67)

LT Kainoa Cumpston USN
USS Sirocco (PC 6)

LTJG Marina Nanartowich USN
USS Carney (DDG 64)

QM1(SW/AW) Jerry Gore, II, USN
USS New Orleans (LPD 18)

FCC(SW) Robert Houck, USN
USS Nitze (DDG 94)

Admiral Zumwalt Award for Visionary Leadership
BM2(SW/AW) Raymond Newton, USN
USS Spruance (DDG 111)

CMDCM(SW/AW) Thadeous Wright, USN
USS Shiloh (CG 67)

Naval Surface Forces Shiphandler of the Year Award
LT Austin Clouse, USN
USS Gunston Hall (LSD 44)

Surface Force Independent Duty Corpsman of the Year Award
HM1(SW) Carrie Conn, USN
USS Gonzalez (DDG 66)

HM1(SW/FMF/AW) Billy Fuson, Jr., USN
USS Barry (DDG 52)

Captain Raymond Komorowski Photography Award
GSCS Jesus Alejo, USN

Special Recognition Awards
VADM Doug Katz, USN (Ret)
FORCM(SW/AW) Karen O'Connor, USN (Ret)
RADM John Tozzi, USCG (Ret)

Surface Navy Literary Award
CAPT George Galdorisi, USN (Ret)
"A Potent One-Two Punch"
Proceedings, March 2016

Surface Warfare Historical Recognition
Vietnam River Section 531 Operations

2016 Grand Prize Winner
CAPT Raymond A. Komorowski Photo Award

Surface Navy Association

6551 Loisdale Court, Suite 222

Springfield, VA  22150